top of page

Women’s World Cup 2023 ticket sales break record

The ninth Women’s World Cup is set to kick-off today in Australia and New Zealand having already set a new record for tickets sales.

Organisers have sold 1.4m seats for the tournament, eclipsing the previous benchmark of 1.35m tickets bought at the 2015 edition in Canada.

This is the biggest edition of the Women’s World Cup to date, increasing from 24 to 32 teams and raising the number of games from 52 to 64.

According to the NSW government on Tuesday, 79,000 tickets sold in Sydney – less than one fifth of tickets – had gone to international fans.

People from 182 different countries have bought tickets.

This year will see eight teams make their World Cup debuts - Portugal, the Republic of Ireland, Vietnam, the Philippines, Haiti, Panama, Zambia and Morocco.

Up to 70,000 fans will watch Australia's Matildas kick off their campaign at Stadium Australia in Sydney Olympic Park at 8pm as they come up against the Republic of Ireland.

New Zealand host Norway at Eden Park, in Auckland, at 7pm local time and 5pm AEST in the very first match of the highly-anticipated tournament.

The Matildas begin their campaign against the Republic of Ireland on Thursday night. Picture: Jason Edwards

"We are thrilled with the strong ticket sales for the FIFA Women's World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023," James Johnson, CEO of Football Australia, said. "Surpassing one million tickets sold in Australia alone is a remarkable achievement, and we are confident in our ability to break the 1.5 million ticket sales target across both host countries soon.

"This is a testament to the unwavering support for women's football and the excitement surrounding the tournament.

Photo by Maddie Meyer – FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

Long before the official tournament started in 1991, an unofficial World Cup took place in 1970 in Italy. The English Football Association had banned women's football in 1921, and Uefa and Fifa – the European and world governing bodies - were not interested in investing in the game. Instead, a group of Italian businessmen decided to stage international tournaments as the Federation of Independent European Female Football.

It is the first time the tournament has been hosted by more than one country. New Zealand have played at five previous editions, never getting past the group stages, while Australia have reached the quarter-finals three times in their seven appearances.

Thirty-six nations have taken part since the first Women’s World Cup in 1991. The competition has seen four past champions - the United States (four), Germany (two), Japan (one) and Norway (one). Those teams are among the seven ever-presents, along with Sweden, Brazil and Nigeria.



Top Stories

bottom of page