top of page

Highlights of the Women’s World Cup 2023

Spain wins Women’s World Cup for the first time

Photo: Amanda Perobelli/Reuters

History has been made. Against the odds and amid a backdrop of turmoil, Spain reached the pinnacle in Sydney on Sunday, beating England 1-0 to win the Women’s World Cup for the first time.

That Spain had progressed to the final, given the tumultuous year the national team had experienced, was remarkable. That La Roja triumphed against the reigning European champion and pre-match favorite in spite of the disputes and divisions which has clouded the national team throughout the tournament makes this achievement extraordinary.

Olga Carmona’s wonderful 29th-minute strike proved to be the winner. Spain could even afford to miss a second-half penalty as La Roja became only the second country, after Germany, to win both the men’s and women’s World Cups.

The 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup was the ninth edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup, the quadrennial international women's football championship contested by women's national teams and organised by FIFA. The tournament, which took place from 20 July to 20 August 2023, was jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. It was the first FIFA Women's World Cup with more than one host nation, as well as the first World Cup to be held across multiple confederations, as Australia is in the Asian confederation, while New Zealand is in the Oceanian confederation.

Of the eight teams making their first appearance, Morocco were the only one to advance to the round of 16. Morocco’s Nouhaila Benzina made history by becoming the first player to wear a hijab at a World Cup during her team’s 1-0 victory against South Korea.

Tears of joy from New Zealand captain Ali Riley after the Football Ferns won their first Women's World Cup match at the 16th attempt. It was New Zealand's first ever win at a World Cup in their sixth appearance.

Ary Borges celebrates after scoring her hat-trick goal for Brazil in a 4-0 win over Panama. With her three goals, Borges became the fourth player to score a hat-trick in a Women's World Cup game for Brazil after Pretinha, Cristiane and Sissi, and the first to do it on her debut.

Republic of Ireland captain Katie McCabe (left) celebrates with team-mates Denise O'Sullivan and Megan Connolly after scoring their first Women's World Cup goal directly from a corner.

Just before the World Cup started, Katie was awarded the Arsenal Women's Player of the Season after her goal against Man City was named the Goal of the Season. In 2021, she and Ireland men’s captain Seamus Coleman lead successful talks with the FAI to secure equal pay for the women’s and men’s national teams.

Lioness Millie Bright praises supporters and says squad can be 'proud' after reaching England's first ever Women's World Cup final.

'It's the fans who get us through'

Sweden beat Australia to finish third at the women's World Cup for the fourth time in their history.

Women’s World Cup 2023 ticket sales break record!



Top Stories

bottom of page